Culinary Delight: Homemade Violet Crumble

My mother’s birthday was last Sunday and her very most favorite treat is a Violet Crumble. I have searched high and low for these Australian candies that used to be readily available but unfortunately I cannot find them anywhere! I have asked and asked but I cannot find them. So, I had to result to making them.

I found a recipe on Seattlest.com for the honeycomb. It is not the same honeycomb that you would find from a bee but I bee-lieve (ha.ha.) that it gets its name from the big bubbles that form when you make it.

This is kind of a difficult recipe because you are making candy. I have never made candy by myself before so it was a bit challenging. However, if you have a candy thermometer, it really is a no fail recipe if you follow the directions.

Homemade Violet Crumble

  • 1/4 Cup of honey
  • 1/2 Cup of light corn syrup (the no high-fructose kind)
  • 2 Cups of sugar
  • 3  1/2 teaspoons of baking soda
  • 6 ounces of chocolate (I used milk because that is what my mom wanted)

Instructions:

1. Place wax paper or aluminum foil on a baking sheet with sides. Grease the foil or paper (if you have a Silpat, use that instead of the grease).

2. Combine the honey, corn syrup, and sugar into a large heavy bottomed pot (basically one that is not aluminum). I used a large pasta pot, you want it big because the volume will literally quadruple when you add the baking soda. Make sure that there are no dry patches of sugar and if there are, moisten them with some water.

3. Put the pot on high heat. Once you turn on the heat, DO NOT STIR! Just let science take its course and turn your ingredients into candy.

4. Once your candy thermometer reaches 300°F, take the pot off the heat. If you do not have a thermometer, just turn off the heat once the mixture is a LIGHT amber color. I stress the light because you do not want burned candy. This is where the real magic happens! Add your baking soda and whisk ingredients briskly. The mixture will foam up rapidly! It is really important to mix well because if you do not, you might end up with pouches of baking soda in your honeycomb and no one wants that.

5. When ingredients are properly mixed, pour onto the prepared baking sheet. Let cool completely for about an hour. Once cooled, break up pieces of the honeycomb. I tried to cut it into nice rectangles but it had other plans. I ended up just breaking it into big pieces.

6. Prepare a double boiler for the chocolate. If you do not have one, just put a heat-proof bowl on top of a pot. Make sure the bottom of the bowl does not touch the water. I have found that when melting chocolate, it is best to have the water already simmering before you add the chocolate. When I do not do that, sometimes the chocolate comes out really chunky and gross looking and you do not want it to go to waste. Add the chocolate and let it sit. Do not stir it until it is almost completely melted.

7. Prepare a pan with a piece of foil or wax paper and place a cooling grate on top. Dunk the honeycomb pieces into the melted chocolate. I used two forks to get the pieces in and out of the chocolate but you can use whatever works for you. Once the pieces are covered in chocolate, put them on the grate so that the excess chocolate drips onto the foil below. Let the chocolate dry and then enjoy!

I wanted to fancy the candies up a bit so I covered them in powdered sugar. It is completely unnecessary but I find that it makes the candy melt slower so you do not end up with chocolate all over your fingers. I packaged them in cute little candy bags with pink polkadots and tied some curly ribbon on the top. These homemade candies made perfect party favors for my Mom’s special day and she was so happy to finally have her Violet Crumble.


This entry was posted in Culinary Delight. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

