Culinary Delight: Chocolate Mousse

As I said on Tuesday, my mother’s birthday was last Sunday. Instead of a cake, she asked for dark chocolate mousse with vanilla bean whipped cream. I have a folder on my desktop dedicated solely to recipes that I find interesting online. Sometimes, I get into “kicks” of one type of recipe and I become obsessed with finding all the recipes I can about that subject. Today, it was Starbucks bakery recipes. As anyone who really knows me knows, I have a big soft spot for Disneyland. When I went to college in Orange County, my friends and I had season passes and we would go for the afternoon or for dinner, or if we just wanted to go on Pirates of the Caribbean and watch the fireworks! Well, one day, I got on a Disneyland recipe kick and found all sorts of recipes from the theme park. When my mom asked for chocolate mousse, I knew it was the perfect time to try my recipe for the chocolate mousse from the Blue Bayou Restaurant in New Orleans Square!

Blue Bayou’s Chocolate Mousse

  • 12 ounces of bittersweet chocolate
  • 1/2 Cup of unsalted butter
  • 5 ounces of egg whites (I found this to be around 5 eggs worth)
  • 1/4 Cup of sugar
  • 3 & 1/2 Cups of heavy whipping cream
  • Optional: I added around 1 teaspoon of vanilla bean paste
Instructions:

1. In a double boiler, combine chocolate and butter, stirring until melted. I find that it is easier to leave the ingredients alone on a really low setting so until all of it is almost melted and then stir.

2. Whip cream and sugar until light and fluffy and set aside.

3. Beat egg whites until soft peaks form (about 10 minutes).

4. Using a wire whisk, fold in egg whites with the melted chocolate. Then fold in the whipped cream.

5. Cover and refrigerate overnight. If you make it in the morning for that evening, you do not have to leave it overnight. When you are ready to serve, stir well and enjoy!

Vanilla Bean Whipped Cream

  • 1 Tablespoon of vanilla bean paste or 1 vanilla bean
  • 3 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 Cup of sugar
  • 4 ounces of heavy whipping cream

1. Add all ingredients to a mixing bowl. If using a vanilla bean, slice it open lengthwise and scrape a knife along the inside to get out the seeds. Using wire whisk attachment or wire whisk, stir ingredients until you have whipped cream. I strongly suggest using an electric mixer because it will take you a lot longer to do it by hand (and your arm will be sore).

I served the mousse in gold-rimmed wine glasses with a dollop of the whipped cream on top. I added five chocolate chips on top because I love dark chocolate! Everyone loved them and my 98 year old great-grandmother even commented that I was a wonderful cook and to me, that is the greatest compliment ever.

Mousse recipe from City Hall in Disneyland
This entry was posted in Culinary Delight, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Culinary Delight: Chocolate Mousse

  1. Pingback: Culinary Delight: Brunch fit for a Queen | Oh Lovely Lolo

  2. hi-ya, I like all your posts, keep them coming.

  3. ohlovelylolo says:

    Thank you very much! I’m glad you enjoy them and thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

