Culinary Delight: Red Velvet Cake Bombs

With the popularity of Bakerella’s cake pops, I decided to try to make these fun little treats. I am a pretty fair baker and thought that this would be a fun and easy project but I was wrong. I am sure there was something I did incorrectly but since my project “bombed” I decided to turn what I made into Cake Bombs!

Red Velvet Cake Bombs

  • 9″ x 13″ red velvet cake using your favorite recipe
  • 12 ounces of cream cheese frosting using your favorite recipe
  • 1 bag of white vanilla melting chips (I used Wilton available at Michael’s)
  • assorted seasonal sprinkles
Instructions:

1. Bake the cake in a 9″ x 13″ pan and prepare the frosting as directed.

2. Once completely cooled, tear apart the cake but take the hard crusts out.

3. Add the jar of frosting and mix together with the cake crumbs. I put on gloves because it got really messy!

4. Once mixed, roll into balls about the size of a meatball and place on a metal cookie sheet (the color will make it look like a meatball!) Put the cookie sheets into the freezer for about 30 minutes and then move to the refrigerator for another 2 hours to make sure that the balls are securely formed.

5. Melt the vanilla chips on a double boiler. Take the cake balls out of the refrigerator and dip into the vanilla chips. Use two forks to maneuver the cake around the melted chips. Place on a cooling grate to allow the vanilla to drip off.

6. I put all of my autumn colored sprinkles in a small dish and used a spoon to sprinkle them on the wet cake bombs. Continue to cover all the cake balls.

7. Let dry and keep in the refrigerator until ready to eat. I suggest a cold glass of milk too and have to warn you, they are addicting!

This entry was posted in Culinary Delight. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

