Culinary Delight: Maple Oat Nut Scones

I had a very dear friend who used to say that I loved items that served just one purpose. He would always comment when I pulled out my Michael Kors leg shine and say that I was such a Lolo for buying leg shine but I loved it. This recipe lets me use a pastry cutter AND a dough scraper and I could not be happier to get to use these special tools.

Last Friday, I had a strong craving for a scone from Starbucks. Given the gloomy weather and my extremely comfortable pyjamas, I decided to stay in and try to make some of my own. I found a copy-cat recipe on Epicurious.com and altered it to what I had in the kitchen. They were very easy to make and came out delicious. These scones are just too perfect to pass up for a lovely weekend brunch!

Maple Oat Nut Scones

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup of old-fashioned oats
  • 1 & 1/4 Cups of unbleached flour
  • 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 2 Tablespoons of pure maple syrup
  • 2 & 1/2 Tablespoons of cold butter cut into small pieces
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 Cup of half and half
  • 3/4 teaspoon of maple extract
  • 2/3 Cup of chopped nuts (I used walnuts, Starbucks uses pecans)

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425°F.

2. Pulse flour, oats, sugar, salt, and baking powder in food processor to finely grind the oats. Transfer to a bowl add maple syrup and butter and use pastry cutter to blend.

3. In a small bowl, beat the egg with the cream and maple extract. Pour the egg mixture into the flour mixture and use pastry cutter to blend again.

4. Place dough on a floured surface. Knead the nuts in lightly. Pat dough into a circle and cut into 8 wedges using the dough scraper.

5. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. Place wedges on top and bake for 13 to 15 minutes, or until light brown.

6. Remove scones from oven to wire rack. Let cool about 3 to 5 minutes. Top with glaze.

Maple Glaze

Ingredients:

  • 1 & 1/2 Cups of powdered sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of maple extract
  • 5 teaspoons of half & half

Instructions:

1. Mix glaze ingredients until smooth.

2. Spread glaze over each scone and dry about 15 minutes before serving. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from: epicurious.com
This entry was posted in Culinary Delight, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Culinary Delight: Maple Oat Nut Scones

  1. Lex says:

    I am actually drooling. you know how I love maple scones!!!!

Leave a Reply

