Culinary Delight: Finals Week Cookies

“80% of the final exam will be based on

the one lecture you missed

and the one book you didn’t read.”

~The Third Law of Applied Terror

I have a brother and three cousins currently in college and one of my best friends is in Law School. Go Bear Cubs! Go Eagles! Go Dolphins! Go Rams! Go Redhawks! When I was in school (Go Anteaters!), finals week to me was the last stretch before I could go home for a bit. If I could just get through the week, I could get in my car or hop on a plane and go home to my family!

I never had an oven in my freshman year dorm room but I knew a few people who lived off campus who did. When I moved into my apartment, I had a full kitchen and to this day, my roommates from that apartment still remember coming home from class to a cake, cookies, or some other goodie that I baked for our apartment.

I am always thinking of what my cousins and friends can make to bring a bit of home to their college kitchens. I stumbled across a few cake batter cookie recipes and as a huge fan of cake batter, I was intrigued.

The best thing about these cookies is that they only use three ingredients which on a starving student budget, is perfect! A box of cake mix, two eggs, and a half of a cup of canola oil… that is it! I used yellow cake mix but any mix will do and it could be really fun to try some different flavors. You can get creative and decorate these beauties with icing, add some chocolate chips, chopped nuts, or sprinkles in your school colors! I added a Tablespoon of black sprinkles that I had leftover from my Thanksgiving Turkey Cookies last week. The three main ingredients coupled with the 10 minute baking time make these the perfect college finals week cookies!

Finals Week Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 regular sized box of cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 Cup of canola oil

Instructions

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

2. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Form small balls out of dough and place on an ungreased cookie sheet.

3. Bake for about 10 minutes. Eat while studying or bring to a study group and be the star of the hour (or four hours)!

Good luck during finals C, M, A, D, & S!!!

“A college education should equip one to entertain three things:

a friend, an idea and oneself.”

~Thomas Ehrlich

This entry was posted in Culinary Delight, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Culinary Delight: Finals Week Cookies

  1. Very cute post. You cookies look lovely too. Do drop by my space sometime. I’d love to hear from you.

  2. IamSimplyTia says:

    Those cookies are cutteeee!

Leave a Reply

