Culinary Delight: Fresh French Bread

“Bread is the king of the table

and all else is merely the court that surrounds the king.

The countries are the soup, the meat, the vegetables, the salad,

but bread is king.”

~Louis Bromfield, American novelist

There is nothing quite like a fresh, warm piece of homemade bread on a wintry night. My mother has a vintage bread maker that was my grandmother’s. I remember her making bread when I was younger from this strange R2-D2 looking machine and it always tasted so delicious!


The recipe book that came with the machine is full of little notes from my grandmother which is so special. Now, whenever I get the chance, I like to use the bread machine to make some French Bread on my own! I did not add sugar to this recipe but I have before and it is just as good with or without. This recipe is for a bread machine so if you have one, try this out!

Ingredients

  • 1 package of yeast
  • 3 Cups of flour
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 Tablespoons of unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 Cup minus 1 Tablespoon of hot water (around 110°F)
  • 2 stiffly beaten egg white

Instructions

  1. Whip the egg whites until stiff and set aside.  
  2. Add, in order, the yeast, flour, salt, butter, and water to the pan and select “French”, push “Start”.  
  3. Once everything is moist, add the egg whites. Let the machine do the rest! Enjoy fresh French bread!

This entry was posted in Culinary Delight, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

