Cocktail Hour: The French 75

“I like to drink martinis. Two at the very most.

Three I’m under the table,

four I’m under the host.”

~Dorothy Parker

One thing that I feel every adult of drinking age should have, is a signature cocktail (or drink if you do not drink alcohol). When I first turned 21, my signature drink was the Midori Sour. I chose it solely because it was the only cocktail I had tasted from my roommates who had turned 21 before me. Plus, it was a darling green color. I knew that the Midori Sour had become my signature cocktail when I went on a cocktail date and my charming beau ordered me a Midori Sour. I was instantly impressed that he remembered my favorite drink!

So now that I have grown out of my Midori Sour phase, my true adult cocktail of choice is the French 75. It encompasses everything that I love in one luxurious cocktail.  It is light, fresh, and sparkly… what more could one want?

The history of the cocktail comes from the 75-millimeter M1897, a light, potent little gun with a vicious rate of fire, was the mainstay of the French field artillery in World War I. Hence the drink. Of all the many champagne-and-liquor combinations know to contemporary mixology, this one has the most élan. The drink was a favorite of the Lost Generation and even Ernest Hemingway! It seems like it would be the perfect fit with the movie Midnight in Paris, non?

Here is a classis French 75 recipe! Remember to enjoy responsibly. Afterall, we always want to stay lovely ladies and charming gentlemen!

French 75

Ingredients

  • 2 ounces London dry gin
  • 1 teaspoon superfine sugar
  • 1/2 ounce lemon juice
  • 5 ounces Brut champagne

Instructions

Shake well with cracked ice in a chilled cocktail shaker, then strain into a glass (either Collins or Champagne flute) and top off with champagne.


Information gathered from: http://www.esquire.com/drinks/french-75-drink-recipe#ixzz1kh4dHzpe
This entry was posted in Cocktail Hour, Food, Party Planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

